The Bay Area Radio Hall of Fame‘s Class of 2017 were introduced and inducted on September 23, 2017

Bay Area Radio Hall of Fame Logo (Image)

The BARHOF Class of 2017 includes Peter Cleaveland (News), Dan Ethen (Engineer), Ron Fell (Management), John Mack Flanagan (Program Host), Richard Gossett (Program Host), Lee Jones (Specialty), Michael Krasny (Talk Show Host), Dan Sorkin (Program Host), Doug Sovern (News), Tony Tremayne (Pioneer; née Mel Fritze) and Rich Walcoff (Sports).

In addition, Chris Jackson of 98.5 KFOX was honored as the recipient of the first Don Sherwood Award as the most popular radio personality in the Bay Area, as selected by the public. John Mack Flanagan, longtime personality on KFRC, KRQR, KSFO/KYA-FM and KWSS, goes into BARHOF as the people’s choice for the Sherwood Award in the Legends category.

In June, BARHOF feted San Jose’s 1590 KLIV as our Legendary Station Award recipient for 2017.

The Broadcast Legends celebrated the Bay Area Radio Hall of Fame‘s Class of 2017 on Saturday, September 23, at the Basque Cultural Center in South San Francisco.

Peter Cleaveland (Photo)
Peter Cleaveland

Dan Ethen (Photo)
Dan Ethen

Ron Fell (Photo)
Ron Fell

John Mack Flanagan (Photo)
John Mack Flanagan

Richard Gossett (Photo)
Richard Gossett

Lee Jones (Photo)
Lee Jones

Michael Krasny (Photo)
Michael Krasny

Dan Sorkin (Photo)
Dan Sorkin

Doug Sovern (Photo)
Doug Sovern

Tony Tremayne (Photo)
Tony Tremayne

Rich Walcoff (Photo)
Rich Walcoff

Chris Jackson (Photo)
Chris Jackson


Bay Area Radio Hall of Fame Logo (Image)


    1. Many people are surprised to see that he was nominated, but keep in mind that he helped grow fledgling KEAR from a single, struggling FM into the sprawling Family Radio network.

Have a comment?

After you have typed in some text, hit ENTER to start searching...